Remote control from one instance of Symfonium to another?

Feature description:

Hibymusic has the facility to use the app on the phone to act as a remote (via Bluetooth) while actual playback occurs on another device. This means that I can plug my dap into my amplifier and get lossless playback while the app on my phone can play, pause, next, etc.

Is this something that the API does and I’m missing it or is it an absurd request?

Problem solved:

It enables lossless playback rather than some form of casting.

Brought benefits:

I’m new to this app, so this may be quite “niche” but several people seem to be looking for ways to play music in different places and having remote control of the machine doing the actual playback?

Other application solutions:

As stated, HibyMusic uses Bluetooth but only between instances of it’s own app. I have many issues with the app, that I am not having with Symfonium (especially loving implementation of smart playlists!}

Additional description and context:

Screenshots / Mockup:

Casting can be high quality too, most people use an rpi with a dac and upnpmdpcli and cast from Symfonium to that.

Full remote control is currently out of scope.

Hi Tolriq

Thanks for the personal response.

I already have a Pi with an Allo HAT and am using Room via RoPieee. Considering the price (and I’ve been paying yearly for about 5 years), I’m not over-happy with Roon and have been using your app on my DAP (HibyR6 III).

I was hoping to be able to connect to my amp and enjoy the mixes. The system for playlists on Roon is atrocious and I’d like to set up a dock/remote setup with my dap.

No problem, tho.

I’ve rarely paid for a piece of software as rapidly as I did yours, it really is that good.

Anyway, thanks, again.

Install An UPnP Audio Media Renderer based on MPD on the rpi and play on it from Symfonium.

Should give all you want.

1 Like