Intelligent filters

I had to search a little for the intelligent filters, because with my home page/ menu settings, I could not access them (they don’t show up in the genre list…).

I will definitely have to work on the translation…

And although I find the interface self explanatory (I am an IT professional), I am curious how other users see that.

One thing that I noticed on first trial: after saving a filter or saving it to a playlist (after hitting the save button), the keyboard pops up again. This seems strange.

It’s smart filter :stuck_out_tongue:

People are used to it in Yatse and Plexamp have them too.

For the keyboard yes there’s bug opened for Compose about that waiting for their fix.

@splinter with my large music collection I use source + smart filters more than anything else to browse my albums and decide what to play. Starting from genre would still give me too many albums to make an easy selection, although my smart rules often include/exclude a number of genres.

I suggest that you add Alll Albums to your menu settings, create and save a number of smart filters as “presets” and then experiment with loading and modifying them dynamically as a different way to explore your music. It’s pretty cool :slight_smile:

@AWren, what kind of filters do you define there? Could you give some examples?

For me, genre usually represents to a certain extent the mood I am in or want to be “served”, which is why that is my usual starting point. After that, I usually have a feeling for which artist(s) I want to listen to, and then choose an album. I almost always listen to whole albums.

For the record the new versions does support mood tags from Kodi and Plex so can be used as filter / main library nodes too.

I saw that, but never used those. I do my music tagging in iTunes, which does not have that. And finally I would probably spend years with setting up a proper mood list and assigning the songs right (where is the line between sentimental and sad?) :joy: