I am not the dev so take my answer with a grain of salt. It was easy enough to test, so here’s my findings:
Yes, anything with data stored in the backup will be overwritten by said data. So if…
- a track is currently scanned at location
/path/to/track
- this track currently has Play Count = 2
- your backup includes a matching
/path/to/track
- the backup says this track has Play Count = 1
Then restoring the backup will overwrite the existing data, and set that track back to Play Count = 1, as per the backup
Album and Artist play counts don’t seem to be stored in the backup. They are calculated directly from the relevant track counts when the library is scanned.
Note that there are settings to control how this is calculated at:
Settings → Advanced → Database →
- Only update play counts for track artists
- Album play count mode
This means the /path/to/track in the backup did not match the path for the currently existing file.
Note that any tracks without user data (i.e. zero for all of play count, skip count, etc.) are not included in the backup by default, and thus will not reset those values to zero.
If you enabled the “All media entries” sub-option when backing up your user data, then those zero-valued tracks will be saved in the backup and thus will overwrite values for existing tracks with zeroes.
The simplest thing I can think of is to make sure the user data that you are restoring includes only data for tracks that you want to update.
Since you are editing the paths in the old backup, remember that only paths which match your new files will have any effect.
So if /new/path/track2 has data you don’t want to overwrite, you can either:
- delete the section in the backup for
/new/path/track2
- or simply don’t update the path for that entry.
Since the current data is for /new/path/track2 it will be unaffected by restoring /old/path/track2
Now if you want a sure-fire way of affecting only the tracks you want, I can think of a more complicated way of doing it:
Expand
Make sure to have a backup of your present data.
Basically you want to remove any tracks from your library that you don’t want to edit values for, restore the edited old backup, make a new backup which will contain only the present tracks, then restore that new backup over your present data.
Step by step:
- make a backup of your current user data
- this is our “present backup”
- copy all of the files that you do want to edit values for to a separate location
- this is our “work folder”
- you could also remove all of the files that you aren’t updating, whichever is easier
- edit your “Local device” media provider to contain only the “work folder” and let the app scan the library
- this will remove user data for all tracks that are no longer present in the library! Make sure you have your backup from Step 1!
- edit your old backup so that the paths match our “work folder”
- restore this edited backup to update the values
- make a new backup of this user data
- this is our “trimmed backup”
- return all media to the desired final location
- restore the “present backup”
- at this point, your user data should be exactly like it was before we started
- if needed, edit the “trimmed backup” to match your new paths
- restore user data from the “trimmed backup”
Since the trimmed backup contains only user data for files that you intended to update, only values for those tracks can be affected. Everything else keeps the values from your “present backup”.
Goes without saying, but be sure to make a new backup before restoring your edited one. If something didn’t work right, you can always restore the newest one to restore the current values and try again.